top of page

Omega Strike

Omega strike is a game where you play as three different heroes on a quest to stop the evil doctor omega from destroying the world with his hellish experiments. It is obvious that the game was inspired by games like Metal slug and castlevania sympathy of the night but did not copy them out right but had its own take on what those games brought to the table. From the start you get reminded of what kind of game this is but where I feel it changes is its difficulty. While games like metal slug or castlevania were really hard this game was not. Thats a plus in my book because not every game needs to be hard as nails. A hardcore mode can be fun at times while only “the best of the best” would finish most wouldn’t. So I like the approach this game took by catering for a more casual audience. The game does however up the difficulty in later stages still not on the the same level of other titles just like it. While some might look at this as a bad point I think it’s good, it means the game would reach more people. I can’t tell you how many people couldn’t even finish the first level in cuphead because it was to hard and most didn’t play it further. Pros This game does a very good job at keeping you in the action and being very fasted paced and slow enough at times to being able to take your time to deal with enemies. I also don’t know what it is about music in video games but it really does help shape your experience, but I did find myself really getting in the mood to play the game when I started listening to the music more. I also liked the inclusion of the three different characters with each of them having different weapons and abilitys to deal with different situations it kept it hot and fresh and I never got tired of it. I just have to make a point about the bosses at times I feel here is where most games in general fail, there are 12 bosses throughout the game and each of them brings a new element in that makes you as the player think. Cons I don’t have much bad things to say about the game but there’s a few. The lack of direction given in the game and I know the point of the game is exploration. I can’t help but feel given a marker or something would have made some levels easier. I also found out that every time I jumped at a chain to climb it in the game I had to push up on my stick to make the character grab it or else I would just fall into some spikes. I mean it wasn’t a big deal at times I just feel it could have been avoided if done right. The game might be a little short for some but I feel with a game like this you really can’t make it to long or to short so theres a fine line to walk. Personal opinion I certainly enjoyed my time with this game do I feel it is worth your time….yes while there is a few problems with the game I do feel the good in this case does outweigh the bad. Its decent fun and if you enjoyed metal slug you would enjoy this. It would give most players 10-12 hours of fun and I feel youre getting your moneys worth.

bottom of page