top of page

1979 Revolution Black Friday

Take a trip into the past to 1979, where you get to see the goings on of Iran during that time perioid. This game was brought to you by Ink Stories a developer that was worked on everything in entertainment like a video game, a few documentaries and a few virtual reality games. What they have worked on, clearly speaks for itself for what Ink Stories can bring to the table.

During the game you play as Reza Shiraz a photojournalist who returns home to find his people protesting the ruling king the Shah. Now the first issue I thought I was going to have with this game was that it would be just like a telltale game where throughout the game you are told and you get the idea that your choices matter. That's the biggest issue with most of these games that no matter how hard you try some things are meant to happen and some people are meant to die.

During the story there are times where I felt the game didn't matter what I choose but I did do multiple playthroughs where I would choose different dialogue options,I did notice a change in events. There are other times where even though you had 4 different answers the character will always give you a certain answer, even when you don't say anything. That does make you feel like your choices doesn't matter, even when I alternated between good and bad choices the game didn't change that much.

As I have previously mentioned the game came out 2 years before and it is very clear that no changes were made to the game. The game really looks awful, I mean in todays day and age I feel something could of been done about it. Also there are very little models of different characters and when walking through an area where a protest is happen you can see what I mean. There was a certain point in the game were I had 4 of the same person on my screen at once. I know its hard to work on things like this but its just unacceptable with how bad it looks. I honestly could find ps2 games that looked better than this, I mean some characters barely look rendered.

Apart from the graphics I found that the story got me through this and not the games actual story but the back story. The story you would only find out if you had been exploring the game whenever it gives you the chance. Since this game was inspired by real events it does a amazing job at telling the story of what happened to these people in real life. There are photos of the actual people throughout the game, at one point there are even video recordings that you can find and your character will recall what happened that day. I just felt like I connected with these characters on a personal level by finding little details like this by exploring.

This game doesn't look the best and it certainly doesn't make you feel like your choices matter but it makes up for all of that with its gripping story. I really felt like I learnt a lot about what happened in Iran in 1979 and that was the point of this, to shine some light on what this country went through and to show the world the real story. I do definitely feel this is worth anybody's time but you need to go into it with an open mind to enjoy it for what its worth.

I rate this a 6/10


bottom of page