top of page

Devious Dungeon

Devious Dungeon is a action platformer rogue-lite developed by Ravenous games. Their titles have made it's way to the site before with League of evil. A whole host of other titles for IOS. Now it's on the xbox one, let's see if Devious Dungeon is like the others.

The aim of the game is simple navigate a level to find a key to open the door, then you can finish the level. Don't forget to kill whatever is in your way to get to the end. The game also has five worlds, 4 chapters per world and 3 levels per a chapter. At the end of each world you have to defeat a boss which provides a good challenge when trying to defeat them. The game isn't very difficult and what I mean by this is that all your upgrades you keep when you die. Unlike other rogue-like games and some people might not like the game because of this. In my opinion I don't think every game needs to be hard as nails and it does provide a much needed change from what's usually expected from the genre. Speaking about the upgrades, whenever you leveled up you get an ability point to put into damage, health or crit chance. While its very simplistic it gives us the chance to build our character the way we want and even gives us a chance to try out other builds.

Progressing through the game you will encounter different enemies and they might look different but they are just rehashed enemies you have encountered on previous levels. The only thing they did different was their attacks would be more difficult to deal with but still wasn't to bad. While I did find myself going out of my way to kill enemies for the money they dropped I soon found myself dying because of this. I only did it for the loot and there's so much of it. That's the point there should be a risk involved for getting the better loot. When coming to the end of my game I managed to find a hard mode which most likely doesn't let you keep your upgrades but that is there if you are that type of player.

While I did have fun with what this game with what it had brought to the table I really don't think there's enough substance here. It doesn't take any risks and doesn't do anything creative with what it has. In a way weird I feel like I have played this before, with the graphics and the generic enemies it just doesn't do enough. In the end its a fun little game for what its worth, grab it only if you're a fan of the genre but I would suggest just playing something better.

I rate this a 5/10


bottom of page